Art, architecture, history, travel

Now London last stop 1974 part24/26

7/25 Thursday London

Stone of scone Coronation chair of Edward I

Westminster Abbey
Tomb of the Unkown Soldier WWI

So much for the traveling to London. Transferred from Helsinki at Copenhagen by air and then from Copenhagen to London. I just had time to buy my newspapers. We have been in sort of a news blackout since we’ve been in Russia.

Now that we are in London we have seen the Cypriots protesting at Trafalgar Square. We had five meals today and I ate every one. Hurrah for a private room, no matter how shabby! I can stay up as late as I want with no one to bitch and no one comes in at 4:00 a. m. It took 22 hours to get here. http://www.aim25.ac.uk/cats/15/5153.htm The demonstration was interesting but I don’t want to know about it until I read about it in Time. We are staying in a concrete high-rise at the University at least it has an elevator.

English: A perspective corrected image of Traf...

English: A perspective corrected image of Trafalgar Square in London, England. Taken by myself with a Canon 5D and 17-40mm f/4L lens. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Tonight I went to Piccadilly Circus; it was great. Kim and I went out for ice cream. I asked one woman for directions and she walked with us from Marlebonne to Oxford circus, even though it was completely out of her way, she was headed the other way when I stopped her. She talked to us about many things. She was born during WWI and lived in London during WWII. She told us stories of the parties with her bothers, father, and friends. I could see how inflation really hurts her. She made many interesting points and gave us hers views from the shape of the world to the ballet. Kim and I finally made it to Piccadilly. I really liked all the signs. I have to see one of those movies. We had ice cream at a Wimpy Bar, just like Popeye. After talking to that lady I wonder how many other conversations I missed because I couldn’t speak the language.


Comments are always welcome!

