Art, architecture, history, travel

Moscow an old friend 1974

pre-revolutionary Russian postcard of Novodevi...

pre-revolutionary Russian postcard of Novodevichy Convent. Français : Carte postale pré-révolutionnaire montrant le Couvent de Novodievitchi. Русский: Дореволюціонная открытка Новодевичого монастыря. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

English: Richard Nixon meets Leonid Brezhnev J...

English: Richard Nixon meets Leonid Brezhnev June 19, 1973 during the Soviet Leader’s visit to the U.S. Česky: Richard Nixon a Leonid Iljič Brežněv při Brežněvově návštěvě Spojených států 19. června 1973. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Lenin

Lenin (Photo credit: Hryck.)

English: Moscow, the Kremlin. Cathedral Square

English: Moscow, the Kremlin. Cathedral Square (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Grand Duchess Sofia at the Novodevichy Convent...

Grand Duchess Sofia at the Novodevichy Convent (1698). Oil on canvas. 201.8 × 145.3 cm. The State Tretyakov Gallery, Moscow. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

English: Vice President Richard M. Nixon and S...

English: Vice President Richard M. Nixon and Soviet Premier Nikita Khrushchev at the Kremlin. NARA. Special Media Archives Services Division (Still Pictures). RG306-RMN-1-21 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Russia

Russia (Photo credit: ccchan19)

7/18 Thursday Moscow

Today at breakfast I met a man from Baghdad. He is working on secret project in Russia. I think he is an engineer. I didn’t even know Baghdad was a real place people were from. It was an epiphany moment for me. He gave me a post card and wrote on it in Arabic. Baghdad is just about due south of Moscow. Iraq is a client state of the USSR.

The old convent museum was a beautiful building. http://www.moscowcity.com/attractions/novodevichy.htm
http://www.moscowcity.com/photos/red_plast1.jpg The Orthodox Church service at Novodevichy Convent made me so sad. I’m afraid I offended some women, by not knowing the rules in the church. Such as standing with both feet together and keeping my hands at my sides. I would have lit a candle but they might have misunderstood. It was so sad to see the old women bending on their knees. It appears that only old women remain in the church. I didn’t see many men. The treasures in the convent are beautiful. I guess I am more impressed by a whole wall decorated with icons than just one, because I didn’t like the ones at the Tretyakov. We were one of the first people to see the newly unveiled tombstone of Nikita Khrushchev.
http://www.cnn.com/SPECIALS/cold.war/kbank/profiles/khrushchev/khrushchev.jpg

The party tonight was fantastic. I finally got the feeling that the Russians were trying to do something for us. I got to talk to more Russians. One in German. One man was a member of the party, one a worker, and one I don’t know what he did. But more about them later. The Lenin Library was also interesting and I also enjoyed the collection of rare books. I’m glad that I’ve had opportunities to talk to Russians. I’m glad they took us to the tomb of the Unknown Soldier in the Kremlin. I wanted to see it and would have made an extra trip. Our hosts were at the Lenin library the equivalent of the Library of Congress. We met some important people and were even on Russian t. v. They even gave us a book, OTETSCHESVO (Fatherland) to take back to our school. One of the men had been a translator in Washington for the Brezhnev summit at Camp David in 1973. He gave me a keychain. President Nixon had been in Moscow just this month to sign a historic document with Brezhnev and the USSR. http://openweb.tvnews.vanderbilt.edu/1973-6/1973-06-22-ABC-2.html http://openweb.tvnews.vanderbilt.edu/1974-7/1974-07-02-NBC-2.html
http://openweb.tvnews.vanderbilt.edu/1974-6/1974-06-25-ABC-6.html
http://eefy.editme.com/Detente


Comments are always welcome!

